7 Ways God Speaks to Us

You know when you read something and it really resonates with you as TRUTH?  Maybe it’s a quote on Facebook or Pinterest that makes you think, “Wow, that’s good!”  It almost always makes you want to do something you already know is good for you.  I’ve said before that when I hear something I think is from the Lord, it “chimes” with my spirit.  There’s just something that stands up inside of you that says, “YES!!!”  (You with me here?)  That’s how we should be when God speaks to us!  It’s not always that easy though –  sometimes we’re not sure He’s doing the talking we’re hearing.  I mean, maybe it’s just me, but I feel like when I’m praying, I’m always waiting on a whisper!

 

Seven Ways God Speaks To Us

He speaks to us through:

  1. His Word

Sometimes something resonates with you, strikes a chord, “chimes” with your spirit.  A lot of ways to say “it hits your spirit like a ton of bricks.”  Maybe you’ve prayed for an answer, and as you’re reading His Word, you feel like what you’re reading is written exactly for you.

“For whatever things were written before were written for our learning, that we through the patience and comfort of the Scriptures might have hope.” – Romans 15:4 (NKJV)

 

  1. A godly friend (or mentor)

I am blessed to have a couple of seriously great friends that really encourage me.  When I go to them for advice, they offer ways to deal, biblical perspective, and hope that I can keep moving forward with wisdom.  God will speak to you through godly people in your life!

“Ointment and perfume delight the heart, and the sweetness of a man’s friend gives delight by hearty counsel.” – Proverbs 27:9 (NKJV)

  1. A timely word

I love it when I listen to someone preach and it’s EXACTLY what I need.  It’s not necessarily the whole sermon – although it has been before!  Sometimes it’s just one sentence that stands out like God Himself said it to me.  As if He were saying, “Yes, Charity, that one was for you!”

“Anxiety in the heart of man causes depression, but a good word makes it glad.” – Proverbs 12:25 (NKJV)

“Pleasant words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the bones.”      – Proverbs 16:24 (NKJV)

“A man has joy by the answer of his mouth, and a word spoken in due season,                  how good it is!” – Proverbs 15:23 (NKJV)

  1. Lyrics of a song

My good friend recently reminded me that I used to hear from God through songs.  I definitely believe that God does this.  To be honest, I only ever listen to Christian radio and praise and worship music.  That’s just my personal preference.  Frequently God will bring song lyrics to my mind that are exactly what my heart is feeling.  Often, they have some kind of biblical background or lyrics straight from the Bible.

“And do not be drunk with wine, in which is dissipation; but be filled with the Spirit,

speaking to one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord” – Ephesians 5:18-19 (NKJV)

  1. A mental nudge

Often, He speaks to us through what I’m going to start calling “A Mental Nudge.”  The Holy Spirit will nudge us toward things, and make us aware of His intent for our lives.  If you ever feel like you’re being nudged in a direction for the benefit of the kingdom, prayerfully consider what the Lord is trying to tell you.

“Your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it,” Whenever you turn to the right hand or whenever you turn to the left.” – Isaiah 30:21 (NKJV)

  1. Presented opportunities or a challenge

It seems like I’ve heard several times lately,

“There comes a time to DO.  We keep praying, we keep seeking the Lord, but ultimately, sometimes you just have to ACT.  Christians say, ‘Oh, I need to pray about that.’  NO!  The Lord has told you to do something, just do it!” 

I suppose I kept hearing that because I was  riding the fence (heavily) on whether or not to start this blog in June.  I felt the Lord was leading me to it with everything I looked at – I even was listening to one of my favorite preachers, and the last thing he said on the podcast before he closed the message in prayer, was “If He wants to, God can even teach you how to start a website!”  Funny how He kept trying to convince me to start a blog and I was so reluctant because I knew it could be a very large time commitment if I wasn’t careful.

“Commit your works to the Lord, and your thoughts will be established.”                       – Proverbs 16:3 (NKJV) 

“The preparations of the heart belong to man, but the answer of the tongue is                 from the Lord.” – Proverbs 16:1  (NKJV)

“A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.”- Proverbs 16:9 (NKJV)

  1. Prayer – sometimes actively praying, sometimes in the waiting

The Holy Spirit was sent to teach us and bring to our remembrance all the things God has said to us.  Personally, I think that means both through the previous six methods of hearing God, and also just waiting on Him.  The Holy Spirit is the mouthpiece of God into our lives.  In John 16, Jesus said this about the Holy Spirit:

“However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come.

He will glorify Me, for He will take of what is Mine and declare it to you.”                                  – John 16:13-14 (NKJV)

 

 

NOTICE THAT IN ALL THESE METHODS, YOU HAVE TO LISTEN AND OBEY.

 “So Samuel said: “Has the Lord as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, as in obeying the voice of the Lord?  Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed than the fat of rams.” – 1 Samuel 15:22 (NKJV)

Pray that the Lord will speak to you.  I can promise you that He wants to get your attention about something!

Just make sure when He does speak, that you listen and obey.

Want to know more about waiting for God to speak?  Check out my first blog post about Waiting on a Whisper. Happy listening!

 

 

2 thoughts on “7 Ways God Speaks to Us

Leave a Reply

