Bible Study: Finding Hope and Healing after Miscarriage

If you haven’t read Finding Hope and Healing After Miscarriage, you might want to, otherwise this Bible Study (of sorts) may not make much sense.  The blog post for Finding Hope and Healing After Miscarriage was so long already that I decided to take all the scriptures I mentioned in it, and just make it into a Bible Study.  I’ll still put the 5 Universal Truths, but underneath will just be the reference I made and then the verse(s).

Also, I typically read from the New King James Version of the Bible because it was what my parents read, and was therefore quoted that way to me.  I will often go to the New Living Translation for an easier read, and if you would like to look each scripture up in your preferred version, please do that instead!  After each quote is the scripture reference, just use that to find it in your Bible.

 

Ready to go?  Read on!

 

1. God Loves You and Has Compassion on You.  

He cares for you.

7 casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you. – 1 Peter 5:7 NKJV*

He has compassion on you.

15 For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all [points] tempted as [we are, yet] without sin. – Hebrews 4:15 NKJV

He has a book with our whole life recorded in it.

16 Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, The days fashioned for me, When [as yet there were] none of them. – Psalm 139:16 NKJV

He loves you and wants you to be healed.

3 The LORD has appeared of old to me, [saying]: “Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you. 4 Again I will build you, and you shall be rebuilt, O virgin of Israel! You shall again be adorned with your tambourines, And shall go forth in the dances of those who rejoice. – Jeremiah 31:3-4 NKJV

He had to turn His back on His own Son – God had to forsake Him, leave His Son and turn away.

46 And about the ninth hour Jesus cried out with a loud voice, saying, “Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani?” that is, “My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?” – Matthew 27:46 NKJV

Jesus had to die for the forgiveness of our sins – we have been redeemed by Christ.

21 But now the righteousness of God apart from the law is revealed, being witnessed by the Law and the Prophets, 22 even the righteousness of God, through faith in Jesus Christ, to all and on all who believe. For there is no difference; 23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, 24 being justified freely by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, 25 whom God set forth [as] a propitiation by His blood, through faith, to demonstrate His righteousness, because in His forbearance God had passed over the sins that were previously committed, 26 to demonstrate at the present time His righteousness, that He might be just and the justifier of the one who has faith in Jesus. – Romans 3:21-26 NKJV

Jesus conquered death, Hell, and the grave.

18 “I [am] He who lives, and was dead, and behold, I am alive forevermore. Amen. And I have the keys of Hades and of Death. – Revelation 1:18 NKJV

Jesus called the children to himself and said to let them come.

16 But Jesus called them to [Him] and said, “Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of God. – Luke 18:16 NKJV

 

2. Your Baby was Created in Love and They’ll Never Know Anything but God’s Purest Love.

Even if we live a long life, it will still be full of sorrow.

10 The days of our lives [are] seventy years; And if by reason of strength [they are] eighty years, Yet their boast [is] only labor and sorrow; For it is soon cut off, and we fly away. – Psalm 90:10 NKJV

One thousand years to us is like a day passing for the Lord.

4 For a thousand years in Your sight [Are] like yesterday when it is past, And [like] a watch in the night. – Psalm 90:4 NKJV

In Heaven, there is no death, crying, illness, or pain.

4 “And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away.” – Revelation 21:4 NKJV

 

3.  He Doesn’t Want You to Give Up Hope.

Our time on earth is that of a vapor.

14 whereas you do not know what [will happen] tomorrow. For what [is] your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away. – James 4:14 NKJV

-and-

4 Man is like a breath; His days [are] like a passing shadow. – Psalm 144:4 NKJV

This is a momentary pain that will be overshadowed by the pleasure of being in God’s presence.

17 For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding [and] eternal weight of glory, 18 while we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen [are] temporary, but the things which are not seen [are] eternal. – 2Corinthians 4:17-18 NKJV

You have a future.  You can hold onto hope.

11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. – Jeremiah 29:11 NKJV

He can’t say anything that doesn’t serve the purpose for which it’s intended.  His words don’t drop to the ground. 

8 “For My thoughts [are] not your thoughts, Nor [are] your ways My ways,” says the LORD. 9 “For [as] the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, And My thoughts than your thoughts. 10 “For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven, And do not return there, But water the earth, And make it bring forth and bud, That it may give seed to the sower And bread to the eater, 11 So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper [in the thing] for which I sent it. – Isaiah 55:8-11 NKJV

God’s words: they are life-giving and powerful. 

12 For the word of God [is] living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. – Hebrews 4:12 NKJV

He says if you seek Him, He will give you the desires of your heart. 

4 Delight yourself also in the LORD, And He shall give you the desires of your heart. – Psalm 37:4 NKJV

Hope deferred makes the heart sick.

12 Hope deferred makes the heart sick, But [when] the desire comes, [it is] a tree of life. – Proverbs 13:12 NKJV

 

4. With His Help, You Won’t Drown in the Pain.

God raises up a standard for us against the flood of the enemy.

19 So shall they fear The name of the LORD from the west, And His glory from the rising of the sun; When the enemy comes in like a flood, The Spirit of the LORD will lift up a standard against him. – Isaiah 59:19 NKJV

He says when we walk through the waters, He’s with us, and the water won’t overtake us.  When we have to walk through the fire, we won’t get burned or scorched.   

1 But now, thus says the LORD, who created you, O Jacob, And He who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called [you] by your name; You [are] Mine. 2 When you pass through the waters, I [will be] with you; And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you. 3 For I [am] the LORD your God, The Holy One of Israel, your Savior; I gave Egypt for your ransom, Ethiopia and Seba in your place. – Isaiah 43:1-3 NKJV

Cling to Him like never before, and He’ll bring you through this.

19 “I call heaven and earth as witnesses today against you, [that] I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing; therefore choose life, that both you and your descendants may live; 20 “that you may love the LORD your God, that you may obey His voice, and that you may cling to Him, for He [is] your life and the length of your days; and that you may dwell in the land which the LORD swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give them.” – Deuteronomy 30:19-20 NKJV

 

5.  He Wants to Bring You Peace and Rest.

He says to come to Him if you’re weary and heavy-laden, and He’ll give you rest. 

28 “Come to Me, all [you] who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 “Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 “For My yoke [is] easy and My burden is light.” – Matthew 11:28-30 NKJV

He wants you to come boldly to the throne of grace to obtain mercy and find grace to help you in your time of need. 

14 Seeing then that we have a great High Priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast [our] confession. 15 For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all [points] tempted as [we are, yet] without sin. 16 Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need. – Hebrews 4:14-16 NKJV

He wants you to rest.  He wants to shepherd you through the valley of the shadow of death. 

1 A Psalm of David. The LORD [is] my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. 3 He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake. 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You [are] with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. 5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the LORD Forever. – Psalm 23:1-6 NKJV

Side Note:  It’s the valley of the shadow of death, because it LOOKS LIKE DEATH.  A shadow is only a larger image cast off an actual object.  It only appears that way if we temporarily forget that Jesus has the keys to death and the grave.  There is no eternal death for our little ones.  Our babies are in Heaven and if we follow Jesus, we will be with them again one day.

 

 

* Each and every scripture listed came from the Blue Letter Bible website.  I use their app all the time for my personal Bible time.  (I am not an affiliate of BLB.org)

 

If you are walking through healing from a miscarriage, or maybe even experiencing one now, I would love to pray with you.  If you would like to contact me via my Contact Me page, please do.  I will never share any of your information.  If you feel like you’re alone, I assure you that you’re not.  Contact me through my page and we can converse via email or private messaging of some kind.  I would love to help you in any way I can.  If you have other questions or helpful comments, please submit them below.  I welcome the interaction.

Also, if anything in this post was encouraging to you or could be encouraging to someone else, please share it with them.  Please consider the sensitive nature of miscarriage and either post to everyone you know (because you never know who could need it) or send a private message to women who could use the encouragement.  Thank you for your discretion in sharing!

If you’d like some of my backstory, please visit my first post, Why “Waiting on a Whisper“.

<<< Finding Hope and Healing After Miscarriage

One thought on “Bible Study: Finding Hope and Healing after Miscarriage

Leave a Reply

