Bible Study: Be Careful Which Voice You Listen To

If you haven’t read Be Careful Which Voice You Listen To, please do so.  (It opens in a new link!)  Also, all scripture references are from the New King James Version of the Bible (unless otherwise stated), which I took from blueletterbible.org.

In Be Careful, I felt the Lord wanted me to not only put some things I have “thought” (the lie of the enemy), but also, what He said in response.  Many of those are reassurances that He has given me personally, although not all of them.  Sometimes all we need is a timely Word of Truth to combat the lies the enemy tries to plant in our hearts and minds.

But enough about the enemy!  Moving on to what the LORD says to us!

 

“I am faithful.”

Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful. – Hebrews 10:23
If we are faithless,
He remains faithful;
He cannot deny Himself. – 2 Timothy 2:13

But the Lord is faithful, who will establish you and guard you from the evil one. – 2 Thessalonians 3:3

He who calls you is faithful, who also will do it. – 1 Thessalonians 5:24 

 

“Bring it to Me, I care.  Give Me your burden so I can help you.”

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” – Matthew 11:28-30

 

“You’re my creation.  I knit you together in your mother’s womb.  I have every hair on your head counted, and there’s not a tear you’ve cried that I haven’t seen.”

For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them. – Ephesians 2:10

For You formed my inward parts;
You covered me in my mother’s womb. – Psalm 139:13

But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. – Matthew 10:30

You number my wanderings;
Put my tears into Your bottle;
Are they not in Your book? – Psalm 56:8

 

“You’re the apple of My eye.  I have loved you since the beginning of the world, and I’ll never stop.  You can’t ever outrun My love.”

Keep me as the apple of Your eye;
Hide me under the shadow of Your wings, – Psalm 17:8

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ, just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love, having predestined us to adoption as sons by Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the good pleasure of His will, to the praise of the glory of His grace, by which He made us accepted in the Beloved. – Ephesians 1:3-6

For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. – Romans 8:38-39

… That Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height— to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God. – Ephesians 3:17-19

 

“I knew every mistake you’d ever make and I sent my Son to die for you anyway.” ther

Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed, and in Your book they were all written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them.  How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God, How great is the sum of them!  If I should count them, they would be more in number than the sand; When I awake, I am still with You. – Psalm 139:16-18

For You, Lord, are good, and ready to forgive, and abundant in mercy to all those who call upon You. – Psalm 86:5

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.  – 1 John 1:9

For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard.  Yet God, with undeserved kindness, declares that we are righteous.  He did this through Christ Jesus when he freed us from the penalty of our sins.  For God presented Jesus as the sacrifice for sin.  People are made right with God when they believe that Jesus sacrificed his life, shedding his blood. This sacrifice shows that God was being fair when he held back and did not punish those who sinned in times past, for he was looking ahead and including them in what he would do in this present time.  God did this to demonstrate his righteousness, for he himself is fair and just, and he declares sinners to be right in his sight when they believe in Jesus. – Romans 3:23-26 (New Living Translation)

 

“I can make a way where there is no way.  I call things that are not, as though they are.  I will teach you how to prosper if you call on Me.”

Behold, I will do a new thing,
Now it shall spring forth;
Shall you not know it?
I will even make a road in the wilderness
And rivers in the desert. – Isaiah 43:19

… (as it is written, “I have made you a father of many nations”) in the presence of Him whom he believed – God, who gives life to the dead and calls those things which do not exist as though they did… – Romans 4:17

“Come near to Me, hear this: I have not spoken in secret from the beginning; from the time that it was, I was there.  And now the Lord GOD and His Spirit have sent Me.”  Thus says the LORD, your Redeemer, The Holy One of Israel: “I am the LORD your God, who teaches you to profit, who leads you by the way you should go. – Isaiah 48:16-17

“Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.” – Jeremiah 33:3

 

“Pray for wisdom – I give it freely when you ask.  Listen to Me, learn from Me, and I will help you.”

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him. – James 1:5

“Take my yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” – Matthew 11:29

 

“If you follow after Me with everything inside you, I’ll take you places you’ve never dreamed of going.”

“Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.” – Jeremiah 33:3

Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen. – Ephesians 3:20-21

 

“If I say it once, I don’t need to say it again.  If you will follow Me, it’s as good as done.”

“I have declared the former things from the beginning;
They went forth from My mouth, and I caused them to hear it.
Suddenly I did them, and they came to pass.  Because I knew that you were obstinate,
and your neck was an iron sinew, and your brow bronze, even from the beginning I have declared it to you;  before it came to pass I proclaimed it to you, lest you should say, ‘My idol has done them, and my carved image and my molded image have commanded them.’ – Isaiah 48:3-5

So Samuel grew, and the LORD was with him and let none of his words fall to the ground. – 1 Samuel 3:19

 

“It’s OK to not be perfect.  Bring your perfectionism to the foot of the cross and leave it with me.  Don’t shackle yourself to expectations others put on you or that you put on yourself.  Concentrate on your walk with Me, and I’ll make even your enemies at peace with you.”

But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at his physical stature, because I have refused him.  For the LORD does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” – 1 Samuel 16:7

For you were buried with Christ when you were baptized.  And with Him you were raised to new life because you trusted the mighty power of God, who raised Christ from the dead.  You were dead because of your sins and because your sinful nature was not yet cut away.  Then God made you alive with Christ, for He forgave all our sins.  He cancelled the record of the charges against us and took it away by nailing it to the cross. – Colossians 2:12-14 (New Living Translation)

When a man’s ways please the LORD, He makes even his enemies to be at peace with him. – Proverbs 16:7

 

“They were just sinners saved by grace.  You need community and encouragement, and they are gifts from Me.”

For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast. – Ephesians 2:8-9

And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works, not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as you see the Day approaching. – Hebrews 10:24-25

Command those who are rich in this present age not to be haughty, nor to trust in uncertain riches but in the living God, who gives us richly all things to enjoy.  Let them do good, that they may be rich in good works, ready to give, willing to share, storing up for themselves a good foundation for the time to come, that they may lay hold on eternal life.  – 1 Timothy 6:17-19

 

“Follow Me, and I’ll bring them to you.”

“For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.  But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.” – Matthew 6:32-33

 

“You let Me work on you, and I’ll work on them.  I will knit your hearts together.  I am the God of reconciliation.”

Judge not, that you be not judged.  For with what judgement you judge, you will be judged; and with the measure you use, it will be measured back to you.  And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the plank in your own eye?  Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me remove the speck from your eye’: and look, a plank is in your own eye?  Hypocrite!  First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye. – Matthew 7:1-5

Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; bearing with one another, and forgiving one another, if anyone has a complaint against another; even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do.  But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection.  And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful. – Colossians 3:12-15

“Children are a gift from Me, and I want to make you a fruitful vine.”

Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD,
The fruit of the womb is a reward. – Psalm 127:3

 

A Song of Ascents.

Blessed is every one who fears the LORD,
Who walks in His ways.

When you eat the labor of your hands,
You shall be happy, and it shall be well with you.

Your wife shall be like a fruitful vine
In the very heart of your house,
Your children like olive plants
All around your table.

Behold, thus shall the man be blessed
Who fears the LORD.

The LORD bless you out of Zion,
And may you see the good of Jerusalem
All the days of your life.

Yes, may you see your children’s children.

Peace be upon Israel! – Psalm 128

 

“I will help you.  I will show you what to do.  You do your part to be faithful, and I’ll remain faithful.”

Bring all the tithes into the storehouse,
That there may be food in My house,
And try Me now in this,”
Says the LORD of hosts,
“If I will not open for you the windows of heaven
And pour out for you such blessing
That there will not be room enough to receive it.

“And I will rebuke the devourer for your sakes,
So that he will not destroy the fruit of your ground,
Nor shall the vine fail to bear fruit for you in the field,”
Says the LORD of hosts” – Malachi 3:10-11

But this I say: He who sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and he who sows bountifully will also reap bountifully.  So let each one give as he purposes in his heart, not grudgingly or of necessity; for God loves a cheerful giver.  And God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you, always having all sufficiency in all things, may have an abundance for every good work. – 2 Corinthians 9:6-8

“So he who had received five talents came and brought five other talents, saying, ‘Lord, you delivered to me five talents; look, I have gained five more talents besides them.’ “His lord said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant; you were faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord.’                                      – Matthew 25:20-21

**Please go read Matthew 25:14-46 for the Parable of the Talents for the bigger picture here.**

 

“You are the temple of the Holy Spirit.  You need make changes and I will help you.  Start small and look to Me, and I will teach you discipline.”

Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?  For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it.  And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown.  Therefore I run thus: not with uncertainty. Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air.  But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.  1 Corinthians 9:24-27

Commit your works to the LORD,
And your thoughts will be established. – Proverbs 16:3

 

I hope you enjoyed the Bible Study: Be Careful Which Voice You Listen To.

If you’d like to go back to the original post (without all the scripture references), you can find it here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

